Life: Am I Doing This Right?

When I ran across M.Funk Photography’s Rayons de Soleil, it made me think of all those snapshot moments that stay in your head and fuel you during the rough or lonely moments in life. It was one of those nights when I was home alone – whether I wanted to be or not. Unstructured time is not my friend and I can often sink into a static, TV watching stupor. Instead, a Sharpie, a blank page and an old scrapbook manifested this random piece of artwork.

sketch with ladder, rock bridge, and vegetation underneath

Life: I Wonder if I am Doing This Right?

My empty house – even the roommate’s dogs gone – gave me time to capture the steep walls of Grand Canyon, a heart-shaped nurse log in the Costa Rican rainforest, a sweeping stone arch in Natural Bridges National Monument, a blue-crowned motmot, and a juniper log ladder, and a Grecian Shoemaker Butterfly. As I sketched the collage of photos from different magic moments, I still had a sinking feeling that I was missing out. Is the grass really greener? Should I have stayed in Ohio and made babies instead of travel agendas? I drew a woman who looks so different than me and wondered what she would say to my questions. Turns out, she was thinking the same thing. Did she miss out? Should she have made a travel agenda instead of a baby? I guess all of us – beyond the age where there is a life map to follow – ask ourselves the same question. Instead of, “Am I doing this right?” maybe we should ask, “Did it take my breath away?”

 

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but the moments that take our breath away.”

erie photo of clouds

my own storms

Leave a Reply

